Awards & Honors

PDAB Award

In 2020, ECOJC received the Persons with Disabilities Advisory Board , Olathe Accessible Community Award for Excellence in serving the elderly with innovative person-centered care .

PEAK Award

GERTI and Evergreen Community were awarded the Promoting Excellent Alternatives in Kansas Nursing Homes or "PEAK" Award from the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services in 2008, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, & 2023. The award recognizes organizations pursuing progressive models of care who are instituting non-traditional models of care with home environments, a movement known nationally as “culture change."

staff photo

LeadingAge Kansas Volunteer of the Year Award

Volunteer and member of the ELI Board of Directors, Jessica Dupriest received the LeadingAge Kansas 2015 "Volunteer of the Year Award" award for her commitment to serving elders at Evergreen Community. Dupriest volunteers weekly, has served as the ELI Board Chair, and supported Evergreen's mission through fundraising and resident activities for more than eleven years.

LeadingAge Kansas Faye McCoy Positive Aging Award

Jean Travis, Evergreen Community of Johnson County resident, received the 2014 "Positive Aging Award" award which is presented to an individual who lives in or receives services from a LeadingAge Kansas member and who sets a positive example of aging in their community. The successful candidate will be active and engaged in making a positive impact on the lives of others irrespective of his/her physical status.

LeadingAge Kansas Excellence in Leadership

Karen Craig, GERTI Instructor, received the 2013 "Excellence in Leadership" award for promoting high-quality elder care across the State of Kansas in August, 2013. This award is presented to a LeadingAge Kansas member, their board, local committee or individual who inspires, demonstrates relational leadership, and promotes change.